The Catacombs Catacombs International Guide
Space 1999 In The UK

UNITED KINGDOM

BBC2

BBC2 is the second channel of the state (non-commercial) broadcaster, and caters to more minority interests and sport. In the 1990s, the 6:25pm slot was the home of cult TV shows, including Star Trek and repeats of Battlestar Galactica. On 30 August 1994, BBC 1 (the main BBC channel) had shown War Games (at 11:15pm as part of a tribute to Lew Grade).

In 1998, Space: 1999 reappeared, for the first time on national television, without commercials and (mostly) in production order. However, in keeping with tradition, the first episodes were cut, and the slot became more irregular as the series ran, often preempted by sport. Missing Link was delayed by sport and an on-screen caption appeared over an important scene (Sandra tells Helena not to let Koenig die) explaining a following programme cancellation.

The BBC created their new edits of the episodes, removing the fade to commercials (on the basis that the episode was not interrupted by commercials), and the Year One "this episode" opening titles. Complaints after the first three episodes persuaded them to abandon the editing, although eleven of the Year Two episodes were also BBC versions, presumably used by mistake. In addition, many episodes were edited.

After Christmas, the last two episodes moved to Saturday afternoons.

The episode The AB Chrysalis, shown on 17 April 1999, was introduced by the BBC announcer with the words They don't make 'em like this anymore... thankfully. Unfortunately this seems to sum up the BBC's attitude to the show in terms of scheduling and editing.

Production Order Episode BBC broadcast

1

Breakaway

Mon, 11 May 1998 6:25pm (BBC version, cut)

5

Earthbound

Mon, 18 May 1998 6:25pm (BBC version, cut)

2

Matter of Life and Death

Mon, 25 May 1998 6:25pm (BBC version, cut)

3

Black Sun

Mon, 1 June 1998 6:20pm

4

Ring Around the Moon

Mon, 8 June 1998 6:20pm

6

Another Time, Another Place

Mon, 15 June 1998 6:25pm

7

Missing Link

Mon, 6 July 1998 6:25pm (delayed by sport until 6:40pm)

8

Guardian of Piri

Mon, 13 July 1998 6:20pm

9

Force of Life

Mon, 20 July 1998 6:25pm

10

Alpha Child

Mon, 27 July 1998 6:20pm

11

The Last Sunset

Mon, 3 August 1998 6:20pm

12

Voyager's Return

Mon, 10 August 1998 6:25pm

13

Collision Course

Mon, 17 August 1998 6:20pm

14

Death's Other Dominion

Mon, 24 August 1998 6:20pm

15

The Full Circle

Mon, 7 September 1998 6:45pm

16

End of Eternity

Mon, 5 October 1998 6:20pm (cut: Baxter's attack on Koenig cut by 20 seconds)

17

War Games

Mon, 12 October 1998 6:20pm

18

The Last Enemy

Mon, 2 November 1998 6:20pm

19

The Troubled Spirit

Mon, 16 November 1998 6:25pm

20

Space Brain

Mon, 30 November 1998 6:25pm

21

The Infernal Machine

Mon, 7 December 1998 6:20pm

22

Mission of the Darians

Mon, 14 December 1998 6:20pm (last before Christmas)

23

Dragon's Domain

Sat, 2 January 1999 4:55pm (moves to Saturday)

24

The Testament of Arkadia

Sat, 9 January 1999 4:25pm (sound fault)

Year Two (1999)

By Year Two, the run had become more confused. The Saturday afternoon slot floated between 3:40pm and 5pm from week to week. For some weeks, the show regained the Monday 6:25pm slot (running as well as the Saturday slot). The order slightly differs from production order, but does follow "days since leaving Earth orbit" (with the exception of Bringers Of Wonder).

For some regions of the country, such as Wales and the West Country (HTV), this was the first showing of some of the Year Two episodes.

Bringers Of Wonder was presented as a 90 minute "feature length" episode- not the (largely uncut) Destination Moonbase Alpha version, but a new version with two cuts in part one (Kandor on fire and the kendo fight), as well as the closing credits of part 1 and opening titles and in-show recap removed.

Production Order Episode BBC broadcast

25

The Metamorph

Sat, 16 January 1999 4:25pm

26

The Exiles

Sat, 30 January 1999 3:40pm (BBC version)

27

One Moment of Humanity

Sat, 6 February 1999 3:40pm

28

All That Glisters

Sat, 20 February 1999 4:20pm (postponed from 13 February)

29

Journey To Where

Mon, 22 February 1999 6:25pm (BBC version)

30

The Taybor

Sat, 27 February 1999 4:40pm (originally scheduled for Mon 22 February 1999 6:40pm)

32

The Mark of Archanon

Mon, 1 March 1999 6:40pm

31

The Rules of Luton

Sat, 6 March 1999 4:45pm (BBC version)

34

New Adam New Eve

Sat, 13 March 1999 5:05pm

33

Brian the Brain

Sat, 20 March 1999 4:05pm

36

Catacombs of the Moon

Sat, 27 March 1999 4:45pm

35

The AB Chrysalis

Sat, 17 April 1999 3:05pm

38

The Beta Cloud

Mon, 19 April 1999 6:40pm (BBC version)

37

Seed of Destruction

Sat, 24 April 1999 3:05pm

39

A Matter of Balance

Mon, 26 April 1999 6:40pm (BBC version)

40

Space Warp

Sat, 1 May 1999 3:05pm (BBC version)

45

Dorzak

Mon, 3 May 1999 6:35pm (BBC version)

44

The Seance Spectre

Sat, 8 May 1999 4:40pm (BBC version)

46

Devil's Planet

Mon, 10 May 1999 6:40pm (BBC version, cut: hanging in cell, Koenig punches woman)

43

The Lambda Factor

Sat, 22 May 1999 3:25pm (BBC version, cut; next episode follows immediately)

47

The Immunity Syndrome

Sat, 22 May 1999 4:15pm

41
42

The Bringers of Wonder - Part 1
The Bringers of Wonder - Part 2

Sat, 29 May 1999 3:25pm (BBC "feature length" episode*)

48

The Dorcons

Sat, 19 June 1999 4:50pm (BBC version, cut, postponed from 5 June 1999)

Download Calendar


Thanks to Ros Connors, Chris Dale