The Catacombs The Merchandise Guide
Novelisations: USA
Compiled by Martin Willey

Pocket Books (Simon & Schuster Ltd)

11 paperback titles; first 6 with 16 page black and white photo section. All based on Yr 1 series.

Each book is 10 x 17.5 cm. The upper section of cover features Eagle over yellow logo (the photo is edited, removing part of the far leg pod and changing the shape of the foot to square; the underside framework of the Eagle is also altered). The lower section features a colour photograph of Landau and Bain. One photo, for Rogue Planet, is a year 2 publicity shot.

Most of the books have a navy blue background, with two exceptions: the first, "Breakaway" is black; the last, "Phoenix Of Megaron", is red.

The first nine books are the same titles as UK Futura/Orbit. Rankine's Phoenix Of Megaron was only published by Pocket, not in the UK. Tubb's Earthfall was not published by Pocket and was only available in the UK.

Title Cover
1 Breakaway by E.C. Tubb
2 Moon Odyssey by John Rankine
3 The Space Guardians by Brian Ball
4 Collision Course by E.C. Tubb
5 Lunar Attack by John Rankine
6 Astral Quest by John Rankine
7 Alien Seed by E.C. Tubb
8 Android Planet by John Rankine
9 Rogue Planet by E.C. Tubb
10 Phoenix Of Megaron by John Rankine


6 paperback titles based on Yr 2; with 8 page b/w photo section.

Each cover features the ITC publicity logo with banner "Escape Into Worlds Beyond Belief" & "Year 2" symbol. The covers each have 2 photos. One photo is a live action shot. the other an Eagle (with one exception, another model shot). All covers include at least one photo from The Metamorph. One title, Mind-Breaks Of Space, has a year 1 photo (of astronauts from Breakaway). The Psychomorph has an odd double-exposed photo of the Eagle in the Psychon crater.

Under Michael Butterworth's name is credit "Based on the dialogue & ideas of" and names of those "who wrote the original ATV scripts for Gerry Anderson Productions Ltd, Pinewood Studios"; back cover features description over logo. Although Butterworth co-wrote Mind-Breaks of Space with J.Jeff Jones, Jones has no cover credit.

Warner books also produced a 1977 Calendar

Title Cover
1 Planets Of Peril by Michael Butterworth
2 Mind-Breaks Of Space by Michael Butterworth & J. Jeff Jones
3 The Space-Jackers by Michael Butterworth
4 The Psychomorph by Michael Butterworth
5 The Time Fighters by Michael Butterworth
6 The Edge Of The Infinite by Michael Butterworth

Reader's Digest

Reader's Digest Science Fiction Top-Picks

ed. Judith Hatch (Reader's Digest Educational Services 0-88300-328-7, 1977, 96pp); School textbook, all stories abridged.

A book of short science fiction stories, including (pages 64-75) an abridged version of the script of Infernal Machine by Anthony Terpiloff & Elizabeth Barrows (although "reprinted by permission of Simon and Schuster, Pocket Books Division", this is not the John Rankine novelisation). The script is presented as an audio play (a narrator speaks stage direction) and is illustrated with black and white photos from the episode. On pages 76 and 77 is a student test, on sentence analysis and ideas.


Book cover

Contents copyright Martin Willey